LTC INFORMATION

KM Firearm Training cannot, with certainty, determine an individual’s eligibility to obtain a  License to Carry (LTC).  It is important for all persons to thoroughly review the eligibility requirements below prior to applying for their License to Carry.  Please direct any questions about eligibility to the Texas Department of Public Safety.  The State application fee is NOT refundable.

 

Texas Department of Public Safety
Concealed Handgun – MSC 0245
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
(512) 424-7293


Email
 

To be eligible for a Texas License to Carry, you:

  • Must be a legal Texas resident, or apply for a non-resident license

  • Must be at least 21 (18 if active duty or honorably discharged from the military)

  • Must never have been convicted of a FELONY

  • Must not currently be charged with a Class A or Class B MISDEMEANOR or FELONY

  • Must not be chemically dependent, to including alcohol

  • Must be capable of exercising sound judgment

  • Must not have any Class A or B misdemeanor or a disorderly conduct convictions in the past 5 years

  • Must be fully qualified to purchase a handgun under federal and state laws

  • Must not be delinquent in any payments to the state of Texas, including child support and property taxes

  • Must not be named in a protective or restraining order by another person

  • Must not have any felony grade juvenile delinquent convictions in the last 10 years

 

Course Fees:

The course fee is $90 per person.

             

                CLICK BUTTON FOR EVENT CALENDAR

 

 

Fee Covers:

  • State Required Training Course

  • Range Fees

  • Targets

 

The course fee does not include Morpho Trust Fingerprinting or the State Licensing Fee. Morpho Trust fee is $10.00.  State Licensing fees range anywhere from FREE to $40 for a four year license (based on conditions). Click here for more information. 

 

Students do not need to apply with the State prior to attending the class, however it is highly recommended. 

Click here to for Texas DPS Online Application.

 

Please click here if you need more help with DPS Online Application

 

The classroom portion will last 4-6 hours.  It will be held in a safe, comfortable setting and will cover the following topics:

 State Required Topics

  • Basic Firearms Safety

  • Safe Handling and Storage

  • Non-Violent Dispute Resolution

  • Use of Force

  • Civil and Criminal Liability

  • Texas License to Carry Laws

  • Review and Testing

 

Students are encouraged to dress comfortably for the classroom portion.  You will need a State issued photo ID and any CHL materials received from the State.  No need to complete these forms prior to class, we’ll handle that before hitting the range.

 

NO  AMMUNITION WILL BE ALLOWED IN THE CLASSROOM

Please leave your firearms and all ammunition secured in your vehicle.  If you do not feel comfortable locking your firearm in your car, a safe storage option will be available in the classroom.  Under ​NO  circumstances, will  ​ANY   live ammunition be allowed in the classroom.

 

  The 1-2 hour long Range portion will cover:

  • Range Safety

  • Weapons Handling

  • Live Fire Qualification

  • Re-qualification (if necessary)

 

Students are expected to be familiar with their pistol and know how to operate it safely. This course does NOT  teach you how to shoot or operate your firearm. Email me for pre-class lessons.

Accommodations can be made for students needing assistance. Please tell me in special instructions field of sign up form, or email me in advance so I can make accommodations.

Every effort will be made to provide a safe, comfortable, and enjoyable shooting experience for all.

 

  Each Student will need the following items in order to complete the live fire portion of training:

  • Footwear that covers the entire foot

  • A shirt with a conservative neckline, to protect against hot brass

  • Hat (optional)

  • Eye protection, if you wear eye glasses and the cover the whole eye you should be fine

  • Hearing protection, ear muffs only (please let me know if you need some we have limited supplies)

  • Handgun: Revolver or semi-automatic  

  • No optical enhancers or lasers will be allowed

  • It no longer matters what type of handgun is used to qualifying.  You will be licensed to carry semi-auto or revolver.

  • One empty magazine required for semi-autos

  Ammunition:

  • Minimum 50 rounds required for testing (additional may be required for re-test)

 

 ​Build your own Class
If you, your friends, or coworkers would like to put together a class, please let me know.  I’ll accommodate your private group and customize the training and location to fit your needs. You can even host the classroom portion in your home or office. Minimum class size is 4 people. 

 

 ​Private lessons available


If you just don’t feel comfortable shooting in a crowd or would like some pre-class training, just let me know.  I’ll be happy to meet with you to build your confidence and shooting skills so you look like a pro on Qualification Day!

 

Any other questions?

Just send me an email

KM Firearm Training LLC

1886 Cypress Creek Rd

Kerrville, Texas

(830) 285-3507

©2020 by KM FIREARM TRAINING LLC. Proudly created with Wix.com